Pighouse Pottery

The image is an engraving drawn by John Clerk of Eldin in about 1750 showing “The Butts” looking westwards towards the High Kirk. It is thought that this kiln & building may have been the Pighouse Pottery

Overview

Also known as Maxwell’s Pighouse or Pighoos Pottery, almost nothing is known about this pottery which is potentially one of the first commercial potteries in Glasgow.

The research work of this pottery has been conducted by Kevin Paton through the Glasgow Archaelogical Society and is referenced below.

Excavations in 2011 at 239 Gallowgate revealed an 18th century potter’s house, workshop, drying shed, flues, etc.  Records from around 1707 show the sale of this land as being an earlier,  17th century pottery.

In 1722, William Maxwell, a potter, bought land “on or near the old pighouse” for the purpose of pottery manufacture.

In 1768, the pottery passed to William’s son-in-law, David Eglinton and in 1781 to David’s son, Andrew before it was sold in 1795 to the town for the construction of infantry barracks. 

Main Products

It has been suggested the pottery made large jugs, known as pigs, and possibly specific industrial stoneware for the sugar refining factories.

Articles in SPHR

Articles in Bulletin (Members only)

No examples are known

Pattern Names

No pieces are known to exist

Other

17th C potters in Glasgow are not unique.  A George Thorp is recorded in 1644 as a potter in Blackfauld.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.